Menu Close

Debra Atkisson, MD, DLFAPA, PCC

Position: Divisional Medical Director
Phone: 940-222-2399

Location: Denton

Specialties: General Psychiatry

Subspecialties: Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

Age Group: 5-64

Email Me


  • General Psychiatry and Child & Adolescent Psychiatry Fellowship
    Karl Menninger School of Psychiatry
  • Doctor of Medicine
    Texas Tech University School of Medicine


  • Diplomate in General Psychiatry, American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology
  • Diplomate in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology
  • Dialectical Behavior Therapy

We are in-network with almost all major insurances, to see our list, please click here.


Dr. Atkisson’s philosophy:  Help others function well to live their best lives.

Dr. Debra Atkisson has worked in clinical, administrative, consultative, and teaching positions throughout her career.  She is honored to serve as the Regional Medical Director for Connections Wellness Group, as well as a Physician Development Coach at the TCU & UNTHSC School of Medicine.  She graduated from Texas Tech University School of Medicine and completed both her general psychiatry and child and adolescent psychiatry fellowship at the Karl Menninger School of Psychiatry.

Dr. Atkisson is Board Certified in both General Psychiatry and Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, is certified in Dialectical Behavior Therapy,  and is also an Associate Certified Coach through the International Coaching Federation.  She works to improve mental health in Texas by her involvement in organized medicine and currently serves as a Texas Representative to the American Psychiatric Association, in which she is a Distinguished Fellow.  She has served as a past President of the Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians and the Texas Academy of Psychiatry, Chair of the Federation of Texas Psychiatry, and is President-Elect of the Texas Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry.  She has been recognized by her peers as a Texas Super Doctor Legacy Hall of Fame member for being elected to that status for more than fifteen years.